Villarreal defeat Man Utd on penalties to win Europa League final


Villarreal have won the 2021 Europa League trophy.

The LaLiga side beat Manchester United 11-10 on penalties on Wednesday night in Gdansk.


Gerard Moreno gave Villarreal the lead in the first half, clipping Dani Parejo’s free-kick past David De Gea.

United levelled after the break, with Edinson Cavani slotting home a rebound.

However, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s men struggled to break down the Spanish side for the rest of the game.

There were also no goals in the 30 minutes of extra time.

Unai Emery then claimed his fourth Europa League title, following a marathon penalty shootout that saw David de Gea missing the crucial effort.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.